The Drinking Man’s Diet

Given my future several months summering in wine country, I look forward with anticipation to attempting this diet. I expect, of course, to net gain weight, as everyone who goes on a low carb diet does over the long run, but I’ll give it the old college try.

Low Carb Confidential

Oh, I’m on the Drinking Man’s Diet,
It came from a book I was loaned.
It’s really terrific and quite scientific
And I’m half stoned.

For breakfast some cornflakes and vodka,
But cornflakes have carbohydrate;
So I don’t eat those fattening cornflakes,
I eat the vodka straight.

The lyrics are from Allan Sherman. For those of us not exposed to this fellow, he was a writer and singer of novelty songs, and the original voice of The Cat in The Cat In The Hat cartoon. He would like to harpoon the current topics of his day (in the 60s), and something that had some media currency at the time was a book: The Drinking Man’s Diet.

It was the 60s, man. It was a less careful time. I was brought home as an infant held by my mother in the front seat of a car with a metal dashboard…

View original post 740 more words

One thought on “The Drinking Man’s Diet

Leave a Reply

